Ah, sweet wastage of water!

Boyfriend fixed my shower!

 

I've mentioned it before but the shower here is pathetic. You have to turn the cold on all the way just to get more than a trickle and then you have to add the hot one tiny rotation at a time and adjusting the temperature takes at least 10 minutes (no joke) and even then it is way too hot for me but it only has two temps : Hotter than Hades or Fridgidaire Frosty, so you have to choose.

 

I was looking at other showers to replace it and specifically a hand held one so at least I could concentrate what little water pressure there was on one spot at a time. But geeky guy in the hardware store told me that it was law all new showers had to have a water flow restrictor in them and he showed me what it was.

 

Boyfriend took the shower arm off the wall, spotted the restrictor ( a plastic disc with a narrow hole in it) and whittled away until the disc was more like a very thin ring. Now there is lots more water! He is very handy around the place.

 

I was feeling so grateful towards him and very affectionate and then he told me that he has to go away for two weeks for work and I got sad. Out to a gold mine in the back of beyond. I HATE the thought of it. We've never spent more than one night apart since we've met. But the money will be good and he has obligations to pay off and he should go. He will go. I'll miss him so much, though.

 

He's definitely to the right of the bell curve.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ah, sweet wastage of water!

  1. So glad he could fix your shower. Those water restrictors are the worst. We take it out. Otherwise, all we get is drip, drip, drip.

Leave a Reply

