Party

I had a few friends over last night. They consisted of a work colleague, my local drinking buddy, another local friend, my two teenage daughters and a couple of their friends. Oh, and a sex toy vendor.

 

I don't know how the subject of sex toys originally came up but I'm fairly willing to bet that it was in conversation with local drinking buddy at one of our weekly sessions. From frank discussion came the desire to know more about what was out there and ldb said that she couldn't got to sex shops to buy because her car has the company logo plastered all over it. So I suggested a party and called a few people who were listed as doing those things.

 

The lady I went with has worked in the industry for over 20 years and she is a sex educator. I asked if it was okay to have my daughters there and she was totally fine with it, even thinking it a good thing. I've always wanted my girls to know about how their bodies work so that their sex lives can be happy and fulfilling. In my experience, a man won't please you  properly unless you know yourself really intimately first.

 

I'd asked quite a few people but a lot of them obviously thought it was smutty hen's party type of stuff, which it totally wasn't, and didn't want to come.  Michelle (the sex educator) said that she got asked to do a lot of hen's parties and that she would ask for an upfront fee of $200, deductable from the total purchases. If they bought stuff, great. If they didn't, at least she wouldn't have wasted her time and they were paying for the entertainment factor. It was entertaining, even funny, but the main focus was very practical and matter of fact. I even asked a few questions myself and learnt lots of new information. Such as why all the vibes have animals on them. It's so that they can sell them as novelty items in countries that otherwise sex toys are banned in, such as the Middle East!

 

I'd laid on a huge spread of food and there was bubbly, too. Michelle had all of her stock with her and it took around 40 minutes to set it all up. We all sat around and she did a presentation, passing around the toys switched on and explaining different features. There were heaps of new products I'd never even heard of and her advice was invaluable in avoiding buying items which weren't good value or which plain didn't work in the way intended.

 

Purchasing was very discreet; each of us going off into a side room and doing our individual orders. I actually ended up buying the most; both because I got a discount and because I wanted to try the products and had done for a while. I am not going to list them here because Boyfriend reads this and I want to surprise him! Please note, that our sex life is terrific but I like playing and extending boundaries and he is prepared to try. He is easily the most conservative of all of my lovers up to date but its more because he just hasn't the opportunity yet, rather than being straight laced.

 

There is no way I would have bought that much if I'd gone into a sex shop, nor would I have been able to actually feel things. Oh, and there was lingerie as well. Most of us bought something, although the two younger girls didn't. They were both under 18 but the educator didn't have a problem with them being there, given the circumstances. and they were fascinated.

 

It was such a good evening and I loved hanging out with my great women friends.

 

Oh, and as to what I bought? Toys for me, toys for us, practical devices for me. Is that ambiguous enough? I am going to do this again, maybe make it a six monthly thing. My girlfriends took her card and they will book parties, too. Loved it all!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Party

  1. That sounds like so much fun!! You are right. I am even embarrassed to go into Spencer's in the mall. I always end up looking near either a creepy looking man or a couple that is totally weird. I also don't want anyone to see me leave from the store. You know, our church and all 🙂

  2. Kitty says:

    There was one bad moment in the party, Freedom. That was when the phone rang and it was my very quick to find fault ex-husband, to talk to his daughters! I made everybody shush up straight away and we all then had the surreal experience of watching the girls have a totally normal conversation with him, while surround by mounds of vibrators and other sex toys.

    If he had had any inkling, he probably would have reported me to the authorities. He is not at all comfortable with female sexuality and my promoting it was a huge factor in why we eventually split up.

Leave a Reply

