Such a good day

It's 2.30 am and I should be asleep. BF is; right beside me. I can't sleep; my arthritis is causing me pain. I got him to rub my back tonight  and it did ease a little but I am wary of letting all of the pain animal appear to him. Nobody would willingly choose to be with somebody who had as many chronic conditions as I do, and I reveal the defective parts of me slowly.

 

It's so great to be with somebody who really doesn't mind me reading in the middle of the night or writing blogs or letters, with the light on. He sleeps regardless and wants me in the bed next to him, whatever I am doing.  In return, I sleep through his snoring, which has been deemed so bad by his SES peers that he is always allocated a tent of his own on away trips.

 

I've been amusing myself by writing the following emails:

 

For some reason (probably because I am deranged) I get such a kick out of emailing you, while you are sleeping next to me.
 
You are lying on your side, facing away from me, uppermost arm curved around a pillow. Your mouth is slightly open and you are making respiratory noises that are not yet to be classified as snoring.
 
It's 2 am and I am wide awake, debating whether or not to wake you up for sex. I am undecided. I keep going to the bathroom and rebrushing my teeth and hair so that if I do wake you up, I sort of look presentable.
 
I am going to send this now and you will get a beep, which I will hear. I don't know whether it will wake you up or not but I am giggling quietly, regardless.
 
I love you.
 
Your crazy girlfriend,
 
Kitty
 
PS No, fuck you! Don't wake up now! I need more amusement!

 

And more:

 

Nope, you didn't wake up.
 
I am so tempted to call you.
 
Fuck, I am finding this really funny. There is something really wrong with me, I know it.
 
Trying to giggle quietly is really hard!

 

The great day bit? I got to catch up with my girlfriend, the Gorgeous Redhead. It has been a whole damn year sicne we've seen each other, even though we live in the same city. She is about an hour's drive away from me and has a five year old daughter and no rellies to babysit. I work six days a week and don't feel safe driving that distance after a ten our driving day. Plus which, we have to coordinate around kindy (hers), babysitters (again addressing the lack thereof) and our desires to spend time with our husbands/lovers.

 

Because today is my only day off this week (and please excuse the backwards and forwards tenses. I am tired), I have to fit a lot into it. One of these things was finding a door that worked, so that I could give my daughter a bit of privacy. Currently she has flimsy curtains up there but she needs the door, both for privacy and for keeping the cat out. Nothing inherently wrong with the cat, if you disregard the obvious Satan image, but she does like to how her affection by lacerating you in her sleep.

 

I met GR at the door shop and we did shop, concisively. I chose a beautiul bi panel folding door, looking a little like a French window. I am always mindful of the fact that her bedroom (indeed, most of their presence) won't be around me for too much longer. There was efficient buying of doors, which involved so much money that girlfriend had to pay for my coffee later.

 

GR has a secret and she told me. Such a good thing! She and I have been friends for nearly 26 years! OMG  that sounds so ancient but really not! We met at university and have been friends, albeit with distance related hiatuses, ever since.

 

I can't think of anything amusing to say about howgood it was to see her and how great it is to know that we DO want to still remain friends, even with the constraints involved.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Such a good day

  1. KAS says:

    I totally love your inner crazy x

  2. Kitty says:

    You are definitely in the minority (including boyfriend).

Leave a Reply

