I must have rocked the tour today

Well, I certainly had fun anyway. Ended up with fifty bucks in tips, courtesy of four different clients. That’s a pretty good day as most often you don’t get tipped on day tours. I have a cash savings stash and I put all my tips in it. It counts as my mad money and I also try to put any five dollar notes I have right into it, too. I have a theory that $5 is a small enough sum that I won’t miss it too much and yet it will gradually accumulate.

I also have a direct debit set up for a small account to be syphoned weekly out of my cheque account into savings. The mortgage payment comes out automatically and there is always slightly more than needs to be paid, so I am getting ahead. All bills go on direct debit to my credit card and then I pay that off every fortnight, as close to in full as I can manage it. Then, and only then, will I spend money on things like groceries or anything else.

Doing it all this way means that I don’t accumulate debt but it also means that I often deliberately don’t buy food or work clothes or things that I actually need, simply because there isn’t the money there. I make do. I don’t buy new anything and I try to avoid spending anything on myself.

But wait? Wait about the accumulated tip money? That goes for things like extra expenses for the girls (I gave Number 1 girl $1000 to help in her car purchase; it helped pay some of her 18th party costs) and Christmas. I do find that I manage to save just enough ‘mad’ money to be able to buy and give things to the people I love.

For me, it is truly blessed to give and I love to do it. If I have the money and somebody close to me needs it, then they can have it. I won’t lend money because I don’t want to fall out over possible repayments. If you matter to me, then I’ll give it to you and its up to you whether or not you’ll pay it back, but I have already factored in the possibility that you won’t. Most people do.

I really earn very little but manage to achieve a simple yet enjoyable lifestyle on my savings. Money really isn’t that important to me.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I must have rocked the tour today

  1. Snowy says:

    Um, just wondering if I matter to you, Kitty? I’m a little short until pension day…

    • quirkycharm says:

      Sure!

      Bank account details on the back of a postcard, please.

      (In all seriousness, totally yes, if you ever needed help)

      • Snowy says:

        Thanks, Kitty, that’s nice of you to offer, but we’re fine thanks. You seem to have your financial priorities right. I’m a firm believer in direct debit the essentials, and then if there’s nothing left over, do without. We’ve tried to tell our kids that, but not all listened.

  2. Freedom Smith says:

    What a wonderful attitude!! That is so refreshing to hear that someone cares about others and receives joy from giving. I love to help people. I can’t at the moment but I was able to help a friend last Christmas and it was a true joy. I was so blessed. I am sure that you know exactly what I mean.

    A very encouraging post, Kitty. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

