How to instantly lose your professional reputation

Take one tour driver, who has worked 60 hours this week, with commuting added onto that.

Blend with a charter group of upper management conferencing types.

Place in a venue where the tour driver doesn’t get fed at lunchtime and yet still has to kill two hours.

Mix in a very warm day and an aching knee that needs to be stretched out along the backrow seats.

Enter the unlikely situation of the notoriously tardy venue actually finishing serving lunch half an hour before the stated time.

You end up with passengers seeing their driver fast asleep on the back seat of the bus. No, they didn’t wake me; I woke naturally and I had also set an alarm on my phone for ten minutes before the departure time. I sleep on my buses the whole time because it is often the only way that I get through the exhausting days, but I’ve never been sprung before.

It could be worse, I suppose. I could have been snoring or drooling (oh dear please God, let me not have been doing either).

They were very nonplussed and I’ll be interested to see what the feedback forms say. If I was writing it myself it would definitely go like this:

Driver – best when awake.

So home now and guess what? Yep, I’m tired and I’m going to sleep.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to instantly lose your professional reputation

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    Oh, you mus have been exhausted. Hopefully, they will be understanding and still write kind things about you! Most of us have had times when we just cannot keep our eyes open. At least you were asleep, not drunk or something! I hope your next touring days goes better!

Leave a Reply

