Can you guess what day of the week it is?

Yes, Thursday tomorrow and the reason for asking is two fold. Number 1, I literally do not often know what date it is, let alone what day. The days seem to palsy into one another, with no clear, defining edge. Number 2, if I am writing here it means that I have a little extra energy and that’s usually because I have a day off on Thursdays. The knowledge that I am not bound to anything, or anyone, lets me force myself to stay up past nanna hour.

Admittedly, I have slightly more energy today because I did a corporate charter which started slightly later and finished slightly earlier. Corporate charters are the easiest because they have fewer stops, long lunch breaks and the clients don’t want me to commentate because they don’t speak English. They are often Chinese Mining Company executives, who have received the trip as a reward for hard/prolonged service. They get maybe three days in Australia and it usually involves a trip out to a minesite, a city tour and a wine region, and then they fly back home full of memories.

Most of their day is about documenting the stereotypical Australian experience and I must be in at least 5000 holiday snaps. It’s quite surreal knowing that you, and what you did and said and looked like, is going to be showcased to hundreds of people, regardless of how unimportant your actual involvement in the holiday of a lifetime actually is.

In between modelling sessions, I napped and read. For today’s tour I had brought along four books, a pillow and a thermos of hot chocolate. I am not even remotely kidding. As a consequence, I feel much less exhausted than usual and able to stay awake past 8.30.

Poor boyfriend has been suffering too. My long hours make me cranky and shut off and I know that I am really exhausted when I would rather sleep than do other things. I seriously thought about asking him to start without me the other night, exercise his dominant streak and kiss me when he was done.

What? Isn’t imitation necrophilia just one of those sexual fantasies that everybody should tick off their list?

It’s been a hard week. Without going into detail, my elder daughter and I have had a falling out and the way things are turning out makes me both sad and glad. Sad, because I don’t want our relationship to be so negative but glad because the aftermath has relieved a major source of stress in my life, one which was dragging me so very far down, down, down.

 No, glad is totally the wrong word. Relieved, like pressure has been released but achy and bruised afterwards.

One positive thing about this week: AAPT sent me their usual monthly account, via text, email and through the mail. It read zero. They have promised this for at least the last five months, without it happening, and I was preparing to go all rambo on their ass so it was a delightful surprise that I didn’t have to. I suspect that I’ll continue getting this zero balance bills for the rest of the contract, as they can’t seem to stop them, but that’s okay.

Boyfriend thinks that my lowered voice, hissed threats of denouncing them publicly six days a week, to a an ever changing captive audience, on my bus tours, is what tipped the balance. Good thing because I would have done it and would have joined twitter as well, purely to do the same thing.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can you guess what day of the week it is?

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    Ah, I am glad you have a day off to rest and do things that you enjoy! I hope that work is going well. I have been missing posts lately due to one daughter’s volleyball season and now another being in a play. But today, I am trying to check in with everyone on my list. Glad I caught you on a good day. So glad the balance was zero. About time 😀

Leave a Reply

