Tomorrow marks another anniversary. I wonder if anybody I know will remember? No reason that they should. Other people’s grief is boring and other people’s momentous stuff merely tedious.

What will I be doing? Working (obviously) and then I have BF’s SES Christmas party to attend. (State Emergency Service – all volunteer but pretty amazing people in there regardless; they give up paid employment to do it and most of their tasks are the non-pretty, non-glory type of stuff that the paid Emergency Services personnel don’t get time to do).

I will be busy and then I will be tired. I will probably not think of the date for most of the day. The only time I might is when I wake up, before the day starts to escalate. And if I think then, it will be whilst I am lying next to BF. I wonder if I’ll feel guilty because I can’t compartmentalize better. I wonder if I’ll feel disloyal, because I’ve tried so hard not to form comparisons. I wonder what he would think, if he could know, about me waking up in somebody else’s bed on a day that is anything but mundane because of what he and I went through.

You know what? I think it will be okay. He’d be the first person to laugh at the irony of me mourning him, while I’m skin on skin with his successor. After all, I’d wish that for him, if the situations were reversed: life and love and happiness. He didn’t love me any less than I did him.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    I think you are right. He would want you to be happy. I know the anniversary must be a difficult day, nevertheless, and I am sorry for your pain. But I am happy that bf will be next to you. That is a very good thing!

  2. workerit says:

    It is hard at these times, just keep living as you said he would want that for you as you for him.

Leave a Reply

