Pretty bad day yesterday

In fact, it has been a pretty bad couple of weeks, all round. Family stuff with my little brother, out here for Christmas, hellish work schedule, disagreements with Boyfriend, the heat….

Oh God, the heat. I am feeling ill from it. It has gone on so long and my place is SO hot (no airconditioning) and I work in an environment where it is even hotter. It affects me; it affects my passengers; it affects my family. My daughter got heatstroke yesterday at work and came home shaking, vomiting and crying. She works in a pizza place and they wouldn’t let her go home. It took most of the night to get her to a comfortable level again and I don’t think she’ll still have a job there, as this fire breathing mama went in and tore strips off the owner.

I have had so many people get sick on my bus, from the heat. People’s tempers are frayed; nobody has a good time.

Yesterday there was an incident, involving three obnoxious English people, which culminated in them abusing me, other passengers and the world in general. They weren’t drunk at all, just awful. I threw them off the tour but I was abused and told I was a liar, appalling, disgusting and the reason why WA tourism is a joke. They are putting in an official complaint with the Tourism Council.

My office backs me up, everybody else on the bus offered (totally unprompted) to go into bat for me but it doesn’t look good. Mud sticks. My professional reputation will inevitably suffer and that makes me miserable and depressed. I don’t want to go to work today. I don’t want to get out of bed or do anything.

I am sort of hoping for a meteorite falling on my house and killing me stone dead (heh). That’s only partially joking, too. It doesn’t have to be a meteorite.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pretty bad day yesterday

  1. Girasole says:

    Bah! A bad day yes, but idiot customers do not make you bad at your job. No one has the right to disrupt the enjoyment of other customers or abuse you. They must have been really going off if you threw them off the tour. WA doesn’t need or want visitors like them.

  2. Girasole says:

    PS I just farewelled visitors from France who loved it here so much that they are planning to come back next year. That’s despite the horrendous heat, prices and flies! They loved the relaxed people, the food, nature, the ocean & river – even the shopping! And that’s despite the long flight and the fact they only get 2 weeks holiday a year.

Leave a Reply

