Not all bad news here, though

One of my colleagues has asked the office if we are going to see the increased pay rate of our award. Currently, we are employed under the Transport Worker’s Umbrella, and all paid the  same rate, regardless of our professional qualifications (I have a lot; most people don’t have any).
We were all sent out an email, assuring us that it was being changed and that our pay packets would reflect that in future.
Curious as to to how my current rate differs from the required legal minimum wage rate, I logged onto the government website. Yes, it appears my wages will go up. By an extra nine cents an hour.
I’ve enjoyed envisaging what that extra nine cents would buy over the course of time.
 
Per day: one more slice of deli thin cheese
 
Per week: one chupachop sucker (lollipop)
 
Per month: one pack of non generic brand tampons
 
Per year: one huge container of sunscreen for sensitive skin (which gets used up every three months but oh well).
 
Speculation along these lines is almost as much fun as spending my imaginary lottery winnings.
 
There is also the joy of knowing that the payrise, no matter how much, is all about valuing my professional services and rewarding them.
About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

