I have long hair. Down to the middle of my back.

This is not a style statement; it is because I am lazy. I don’t want to spend time each day fussing around with it. I don’t blowdry, straighten or curl. I barely even wash.

It is long because I am cheap. I don’t like spending money on pampering something that is basically dead cells.

It is also long, because I am a coward who backs away from confrontation. Hairdressers are bullies and always end up doing what they want to do, rather than what you’ve asked them to do. I feel that as I am PAYING for this service then I should get what I want. I have actually been asked to leave salons because I argued my version of the style rather than hers.

Yes, I have a daughter who is a hairdresser. Ha! Hair Nazi more like it. I have been known to lock myself in the bathroom to get away from her forceful opinions about my deficiencies, both in the locks area and my general physical/emotional characteristics. (The word ‘disgusting’ has been used in the past.)

So my hair is long and I don’t get it cut or coloured very often and I either wear it up or down. Up is usually always for work and down every other occasion. I brush it, wash it sometimes, condition it when I can be bothered/can remember.  In short, I blatently neglect it and it probably shows.

But, secretly, for somebody who is fairly indifferent to her hair, I have a passion. I love to wear it down and swish it backwards and forwards over my naked back. The swish is just the most luxurious feeling and it makes me feel beautiful and sensual and dynamic.

I have long hair.

It may not be pretty but it makes me feel like I am pretty.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

