Still laughing/fuming

I found out something today that has amused me a lot.

A bit of background: the first winery that I visit on my tour is one fairly close to the city centre. Residential development, along with light industry, has pretty much reduced it to a wine cellar only, with the wines brought in from elsewhere. Regardless, we have to visit it because we pick up people from the river cruise there. Last year, instead of using the regular cellar entrance, the staff informed us that there was a property line dispute and the next door neighbour was yelling and insulting people walking in the regular way, so please use the longer route. They blocked off the boundary and we walked the long way around. Except not always. Sometimes we would be late, sometimes there was no parking in our designated dropoff zone, sometimes the weather would be inclement and the shorter way meant less wet. I can’t say that I ever noticed the crazy neighbour yelling at us.

Today, I arrived a little late and unexpected. I overheard a member of the staff there telling somebody else about the crazy neighbour and what else he had been doing. I listened, walking up quietly, and was stunned to hear that the whole shouting at people thing was not the worst of his activities.

What they were discussing was the numerous times last year that crazy neighbour had fired a gun from the upstairs window of his house at the winetasting visitors walking along the original path!

Sure, it was only a bb but those things HURT if hit right. I can’t imagine anybody enjoying being hit by a close up range pellet.

What absolutely astounded me is that none of the staff had seen fit to even mention this activity to their regular clients. Like it was something that we didn’t need to know!

So, I’ve been putting my clients in harm’s way, inadvertantly, when I would not have even thought about that alternative route, if I’d only known that a lunatic with a gun was firing on them!

I asked the staff member if she didn’t think that was pertinent information, that maybe it might have been important to know, and she just shrugged and said that they didn’t want to alarm people.

So I’ve been torn all day between outrage and amusement. I’ve been laughing and saying WTF?

If they had let me know, I definitely would have made my route as safe as possible. Duty of Care, you know?

But I should also have claimed combat pay, which might have boosted my earnings mightily.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still laughing/fuming

  1. Snowy says:

    And didn’t anyone think it might be worth notifying the police?

  2. quirkycharm says:

    They may have notified the police but they didn’t keep us up with all the details of the situation. I have since found out that the cellar door manager told one of our drivers that if we parked in a certain spot, previously used, then maybe our tires would be slashed (but no mention of shooting). That driver didn’t pass it onto anybody else, thinking that everybody already knew, and the office received an email, mentioning bad feeling about property disputes and telling us to take passengers in via the alternate, longer, hotter, less inspiring route.

    From my eavesdropping the other day, NONE of us knew the full situation. This is something I have called a special staff meeting for us: in order to discuss the duty of the care on behalf of all parties involved in the situation

Leave a Reply

