Day off today

Not really full on relaxation time, though. I had to go into the office for a staff meeting this morning and it ran longer than anticipated. Well, longer than the office staff anticipated anyway. I always expect them to run overtime.

Some interesting news, which confirmed rumours flying about the Valley. I was glad that I was considered important enough to be confided in but the outcome is that there won’t be new vehicles any time soon and it is really just a holding pattern for the next few months. I suspected as much and I wondered whether my latest emails, venting about the aircon issues and intimating that they might be the cause of my leaving,  were the reason that my boss came clean. I do appreciate the honesty, though.

I’ve never minded staff meetings in this particular company because my input is always taken seriously. Today I suggested setting up an easily accessible online training program for new guides and offered to take charge of it. I would welcome the intellectual challenge, actually, so I was pleased that they enthusiastically endorsed it. I was also told that I would be paid for the time put in, which I definitely wasn’t expecting.

Last night I was amused to get a call from the BF, asking if I could be part of a practice radio training scenario for the SES. What happens is that he uses the radio and that sends a signal down to a radio frequency about six hundred kilometres away and somehow it converts into me talking on my home phone while he is on the radio. I had to remember to keep saying ‘over’ at the end of the speaking. The line was very crackly, though, and quite hard to understand words through.  I couldn’t resist it, though, and ended up with saying ‘ten four good buddy’ at the end, simply because I have always wanted to say that over radio! I think they had disconnected before then, though.

I was tired last night and it was hot so I fell asleep relatively early. I woke up this morning to worry that I had inadvertently shit the bed because there were brown stains all over the white sheets. I am not normally incontinent so it was a moment of shame before I realised that if you are dead tired, and if you fall asleep while eating dark chocolate covered ginger, and if you toss and turn a lot, then melted chocolate can look a lot like a ExLax disaster.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

