My gold lounge movie night last week will make more of an impact than I had envisaged

We went to see the Hangover 2, a compromise between Bridesmaids (my choice) or Harry Potter (his).

 

It wasn’t a bad movie, if you didn’t mind that the scriptwriters were obviously not invited to consider ‘orginality’ as one of their writing parameters. As far as I am concerned, using the exact same premise for the followup movie is just lazy. I enjoyed it, regardless.

Captivation occured about 2 minutes in, when I heard a song I absolutely loved. I didn’t know who was singing  but I just loved the song and whispered as much to boyfriend. I was determined to find out who and even though I forgot to read the credits, I googled it tonight.

This <a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/LVlDSzbrH5M?version=3“>song.

 

No wonder I love it. I have always loved Billy Joel and I remember falling so hard, so fast in love with my first ever boyfriend to the accompaniment of “Innocent Man”. That song still brings back shivers.

 

“My Downeaster Alexa” was written some years agao but I’ve never really bothered to listen to much music in the busy phases of my life and I’d never heard it before.

 

I have a strong conviction that this song will also make a lasting mark on me, and every afterwards, I will always associate it with a time in my life when I was happy and content and proud of what I was achieving.

 

They say that you can’t buy happy memories and maybe they are right but I say that you can buy triggers for happy memories and that is enough. It’s a definite itunes purchase and I envisage everybody in my household being heartily sick of it by Saturday.

 

(Except me)

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

