It’s been a while

Same old, same old. Dull and ongoing. Then the time I had planned and saved for, for nearly a year.

I went away on holiday with the daughter and the boyfriend, camping, for eight days. We had the most wonderful time. It was the first time I’d had off in two years.

The sun didn’t shine much but we loved it regardless. We slept in swags under the stars, cooked over a campfire or a little gas stove, swam, hiked and relaxed. We read books, we played scrabble and cards. We put about 4000 km on my new car.

This is me, doing what I do best.

About to swim, can of beer in my hand, in an isolated spot where there was only us and which had taken two hours, driving at walking speed over incredibly rough terrain, to reach.

It was a wonderful trip and I got very depressed when I got back afterwards, because it made me realise how much I want to be doing a job out there again. In my red heart country that makes me feel alive.

I got back to the dreadful old job and a credit card debt of nearly $2000 just from travelling expenses. I can pay it off but it will be a slow process and I hate having credit card debt. I gritted my teeth and went back to awful city traffic driving, recalcitrant old vehicles and inebriated people assuring me that I have the best job in the world. I would like to stab them in the eye with a broken wine bottle when they say that but instead I smile non-commitedly.

I made the decision to put a time frame on my current job. I’ve been pursuing avenues all week.

I don’t want to say it, I don’t want to jinx myself but maybe, just maybe…..

Oh, there are things in the works and I am so excited and feeling more enthusiastic than I have for ages.

I will be updating soon, I hope!

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

