My company is hiring

Not because I have quit, though. Well, technically I have informed them that I will work until April next year, at the latest, so maybe that means quitting. I felt a bit guilty when my boss asked me if I would stay over the busy season and I said yes, that I was planning to, when I meant ‘only if nothing else comes up’. I clarified (and tried to lay the groundwork for when I leave at much shorter notice than nine months) by saying that if the perfect dream job came up, and I was approached by somebody to do it, then I would obviously take it. The approach has happened but I am not the only contender so we shall see.

The ad wasn’t about me leaving. It was because we need somebody who will take on a steady Saturday gig. As I have mentioned here before, I used to do Saturdays and I regarded them as the worst day of the week. You got the younger people, out to drink as much as possible as soon as possible, and they get aggressive and confrontational. After DMD (drunken midget day), I refused to work full days Saturday again, in spite of the time and a half. One of our casual younger drivers was offered my regular Saturdays and he took it with enthusiasm, only to have to quit it two months later with stress induced high blood pressure at 23!

Hence the ad.

‘Industry leading tour company of the Swan Valley is looking for a professional, dynamic,  versatile team player who is more than an excellent driver  – who can also give great commentary. 
 
Must be available for regular Saturday work with additional hours/days as required.  Must be willing and capable to liaise comfortably with people of all ages and be aware of different cultural backgrounds.
 
We also require someone who will maintain and enhance our excellent company name and reputation with the venues in the Swan Valley.
The successful applicant will also be able to maintain a friendly and courteous attitude at all times.’
 
  

BF read the ad and cracked me up by saying “They don’t need any of those attributes; they just need a big fucking stick!” . Too true.

By the way, I have another job lined up for next year, from April to October. I will be a walking trail tour guide here. I am excited! Very excited!

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

