Day off today

Packing for the weekend rogaining (BF will be around but he has had to swap nights for days so he does a full day of work and then drives straight back up to Perth. We will probably spend the night at his place and drive to the site very early the next morning. As he will be totally buggered, its up to me to pack all of the camping stuff that we might need, including meals.)

 

So, planning for that. Doing laundry and housework and gardening. I had hoped for a midday indulgent nap but I have to go to the beauty salon. My daughter and my mama are giving me haircuts/colour/beauty stuff for my birthday tomorrow. It was at my request; I do need to look professionally well groomed for these [Big Name] travel tours and I abhore spending money on my personal appearance. Plus which, I don’t really need things so it seems a waste of  money. Honestly, the older I get, the more I want experiences or indulgences that I wouldn’t pay for myself.

 

I have had an email from a VERY BIG BOSS at [Big Name] Travel about the conflict in which I am currently embroiled. To cut a long story short, I was originally told particular dates that I was needed, including a paid training trip, and then things were changed. I had already told my current work that I would leave, given those dates, and they immediately got somebody else. So I am looking at two weeks with no income at all. That may not seem a big deal to most but when you don’t get holiday leave or sick pay or any benefits at all, and you still have a mortgage and car payment, it is a huge fucking deal.

 

I expressed my point of view to the trainer over the weekend, when I looked at my employment contract and it had a start date later than what we had talked about. Bear in mind that at no stage had I been told that it might not happen. Also, I had specifically told him that I had made myself free for those dates. And that I had initially balked at the first two weeks because I thought it was unpaid training and I couldn’t afford it, but he reassured me that I would be paid.

 

Anyway, when I broached the concern about the dates to the trainer he said that he was already putting somebody else on that familiarization trip and that he didn’t want to clutter it up with crew. I mentioned what he had originally said and how I would be losing out in this situation as my job had already got somebody else in for those dates and he said that he would get back to me about this.

 

I suppose that is why I have the email from the big boss. It has been there for twenty fours hours and I am too scared to open it. Because I assume that it says that it is tough shit and I only get those two tours, not the paid training. (I don’t care too much about the actual road trip – I am good enough to research and wing it anyway, but I do need some income).

 

If I open it and read it, and that is the case, then I have to decide whether or not I will go through with this. After all, if a company promises one thing and then does another, then how confident can I be about their future work support?

 

I use the ostrich approach with my finances, too. If it is bad, really bad, then ignoring it until I feel able to cope is a very good approach for me.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

