Irony

I am staying in five star hotels (well, where we get them, which is few and far between in WA) and yet I don’t have a chance to avail myself of the facilities.. I am either with the passengers, walking around to find out town facilities, taking notes, studying or sleeping. The only reason I am writing this now is that I woke up at 2 am, dreaming of all the possible things that could go wrong with my tours.

 

Tonight I am in an incredibly luxurious room, with a spa bath. I did have good intentions, I did fill it up but I then decided to hit the books instead.

 

It is Wednesday morning here. Back in Perth tomorrow. My first tour starts Friday. I have 44 people, I am going with a driver I don’t know (they can be incredibly hard to deal with and they can make or break the tour). There is so much pretour paperwork to do.

No wonder I am having bad dreams. But, to be fair, I always do,pretour. The lack of sleep will escalate until Friday night I will be literally sick with adrenaline. I will shake, my pulse rate will elevate and I will probably throw up.

 

It’s interesting to me to be detached and observing this phenomenon. I remember once, years ago, hearing a tour guide talk about this and at the time I didn’t understand. Now I do.It is akin to stage fright and all the preparation, all the knowledge, all the recognition of my competence won’t change a thing.

 

I often get told by passengers that I have the best job in the world and that they can’t believe I get paid to go on holiday. I usually smile sweetly and say, “yes, but if it’s any consolation,I don’t get paid very much”, and follow up with a wages comparison and short discussion of lack of benefits like holidays, no penalty pay for public holidays, flat daily rate with no overtime, having to cover learning resources, having to pay for professional required qualifications etc.

It’s at times like these, when I am shaking and feeling so dreadful that I think the job isn’t worth it. Then I remind myself that the way I get isn’t unique and that I get past it every time. But still, it is so unpleasant when it is happening.

 

In other, health related stuff, the prescribed antibiotics haven’t made a bit of difference. Appointment time but I can’t get there in this turnaround time frame so it will have to wait until I get back off the next trip. At least the workload will distract me in the meantime.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

