Still feeling better

I am not liking this splint thing much, I  must say. The doctor was very firm about it; said that I had to wear it for a week or risk permanently damaging the knee. It doesn’t actually mend anything, it just holds my leg so that I can’t bend my knee at all, which is apparently required for heaing.

If I was inclined to be bolshy about his advice (I have a very bad habit of feeling better and not following through on medical issues), after wearing it for one day I am convinced that I’ll wear it for a month if I have to, regardless of the sheer inconvenience of it. Because this hardship of locomotion it causes is what I would be like ALL THE TIME if the knee joint is permanently damaged.

It is extremely limiting. I now feel a true empathy for all my dear old ducks with their knees and being unable to walk without a cane. The doctor did offer me crutches as well but I declined. I am clumsy enough already. It hurts to stand on it for any length of time still. I can’t sit comfortably (I ride the toilet sidesaddle these days because of the proximity of my enclosed shower to the facility) and I am most at ease reclining.. Hence, spending a lot of time on (and in) bed. Not the good type of bed, either. A further curtailment.

I’d never realised that you needed your knee for so many things! I’ve been stymied by the whole washing the foot thing. My solution was to rub soap on a flannel and sort of hop slide around. Yeah, that didn’t end well.

An interesting progression is that all the skin on my kneecap is sloughing off. The top layers, only.I couldn’t work that one out until my mother pointed out that the skin had all stretched out when it was so swollen and the loose bits now were what was coming away.  Eww. I hate the way it looks but I am not helping it along. I’ve never been a peeler of sunburn or a picker of scabs.

No walkie=no workie=no mortgage payment next fortnight. Head in the sand time about finances because I simply can’t deal with facing up to that at the moment. It’s not like I could even claim social security because you have to do that in person and I can’t get there.

At times I have a naive faith that all will work out as it is meant to; that something will come up or change and rescue me. This is not one of those times.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in boyfriend, health, money, work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

