Okay, I am bit happier.

I have living costs covered again, I will (hopefully) doing work that doesn’t irritate my knee too much, I have the potential to pay off my debts in the future. Now I have a job, I will borrow some money from my parents and pay off my credit card straight away. Then I will work weekends doing wine tours for as long it will take to pay them back. I am thinking maybe April? God, I’ve hated going into debt. But the alternative was lose my house.

 

Also, plus side is that my new boss seems pretty cool. The new job? Just a customer service front desk role. The guy who I work under seems pretty cool. It has been hard to find a job where I got past the initial emailed application because, on paper, I don’t look good. Most people can’t see past the tourism thing. I must have sent out at least 80 job applications and I got four form no thank you emails and three job interviews, all of which I was offered.

 

Two didn’t work out because I wouldn’t budge on the few days I am doing a seminar in December and by the third job, I straight up said ‘this is the situation, it is non-negotiable because these people have paid a lot of money to have me go and give my input and I won’t renege on a professional obligation, so if this is an issue please don’t waste my time and yours by taking this to the next level’. Then I pretty much laid it out for him exactly why he should employ me.
 
Of course, I got the job. I generally do if I get an interview. I give good interview. It’s Monday to Friday, four weeks vacation, with leave loading, every year plus ten sick days. Weekends off! I have never had weekends off because I’ve always worked in tourism and those are the busiest times. What will I do with a weekend? I could have a hobby! Of course, what I will do with the weekends off over the festive season is work anything for wine tours, to try and pay out my debt as quickly as possible. Seven days work a week will be exhausting but I can do it for a little bit.

 

One of the things that I liked about the office atmosphere was that it was relaxed. My boss told me that there was swearing in the office but only the f word and not the c word. I said I was fine about all that as long as any swearing was not specifically gender oriented. I start on Monday and I am going to celebrate my new job by buying a cheap cross and a rosary bracelet to wear, plus any other items of overt religion that might imply I am very into my faith, and look shocked.

 

I wonder how long it will take for them to catch on?

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Okay, I am bit happier.

  1. Suzy says:

    That sounds like a good job!! Man, I wish we got that much vacation time to start with here. It’s usually just two weeks.

  2. quirkycharm says:

    Yes, I know.

    I remember coming to America and being amazed at what long hours you had, how little vacation; also how hard you worked. Here in Australia we have very militant unions.

    (Do you even have unions over there? – they are advocates for the workers, with the right to fight legally for conditions, and they are very aggressive and forthright. They are meant to abide by the rules of independant arbitration, if they can’t make a negotiation with the employer directly, but they rarely do. Strikes happen here all the time. To give you an example, recently our airline imposed a series of strikes, throughout all aspects of the industry, because the company wouldn’t approve the demands the unions presented. The company was courageous/foolhardy enough enought to shut down the airline for 24hours, rather.than meet the new conditions. The whole matter is going before arbitration and what will probably happen is that the unions will be told what the new conditions are; they won’t accept it (regardless of the fact that they are required to) and they will strike further to hold the travelling public hostage until the government steps in.

    Complicated? Sorry.)

    I even get holiday leave loading. The theory is this: when you are on holiday, you don’t have the opportunity to work overtime, or do other things that might give you a bit extra in your pay packet each week. So you actually get extra money for being on holiday.

    Another really nice thing is the RDO, or rostered day off. This is about working an extra minutes each day (I think it is fifteen but whatever the number, the principle is the same) and at the end of the month you have accumulated .enough time, on top of the standard 38 or 40 hour week, to have a day off, with pay. Most people here take it as a Friday and get themselves a long weekend.

    Sorry about the lecture but it occurred to me that some of my readers don’t know this stuff that I take casually for granted.

Leave a Reply

