My youngest daughter’s high school graduation last night

She looked so beautiful and I was so proud of her; especially as she won three academic excellence awards, totally unexpectedly from my perspective. I went with the exhusband, the eldest daughter and the exhusband’s parents were there, too. Unfortunately, it was a lonely night for me. The others were all chatty amongst themselves and I was sitting on the end of the group, next to my daughter, who had a big dislike on for me that night. I irritate and annoy her a lot, and she shows it. It was sad.

 

I’d arranged that my exhusband and our two daughters go out to dinner afterwards: I honestly thought it would be fun and we could share family achievements. It didn’t work that way and my ex and my oldest proceeded to be really snide and picky towards me. I don’t mind so much when things are directed at me but I hate it when it is directed towards people I care about, who aren’t even there.

 

It was an evening that I felt excluded from and I wished that I had gone by myself. I still feel upset today and I am annoyed that it makes me feel like that, when it should have been all about my shining star of a daughter, truly beautiful inside and out.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My youngest daughter’s high school graduation last night

  1. Breeza says:

    I’m sorry. That sounds like such a bummer.

    • quirkycharm says:

      Yeah, it really was. I felt so bad for my gorgeous girl; we were meant to be celebrating her and her own boyfriend didn’t even want to go along, let alone her sister and father behaving like that.

Leave a Reply

