Know what distracts you from a pain in the knee?

A pain in the eye!

I missed two hours of this morning’s seminar because I had to find a doctor, quickly,and then persuade him that I knew what I was talking about and I needed the eyedrops stat, before my iris stuck permanently to my cornea, causing such inflammation and subsequent scar that I would go blind.

 I managed that. Then I walked around for three hours, trying to find a chemist that was a) open and b) in stock of the very necessary eyedrops that would probably have to be got in from Sydney.

Here in Newcastle there is an eclectic mix of shops, services and industry. Apparently I should have required sex in some form or other because all the brothels/adult shops were open at 8 am, as were a lot of bars. Not so chemists, however.

I walked all over town and hurt my knee a lot. But luckily the steadily increasing pain from my eye distracted me.

I eventually got the prescriptions and walked back to the seminar. Eyedrops every fifteen minutes and darkglasses really seemed to impact on the positive energy of the group and, as I had fed so much of that energy the day  before, I called it a day at three pm. I couldn’t read anything and I felt too dulled by pain to contribute anything meaningful.

Now about to try and sleep it off (currently typing this in the dark with just one eye open). I doubt I’ll attend the party tonight and I feel so disappointed.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in health, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

