I am still lucky

Not malignant. Invasive papilloma.

 

That basically means a benign tumour of the milk ducts. Yes, it grows and can burst blood vessels (hence the bleeding) but it isn’t a wildfire spreading condition. They will want me back for three monthly ultrasounds just to see if it is growing. It is not cancer but it is assosciated with a greater risk of developing cancer. If it doesn’t grow or misbehave any more, it will be left alone. Otherwise, surgery.

 

I like this diagnosis and I will probably fight surgery, regardless. I can’t think of any other circumstances, apart from potential life saving, where I would be comfortable having surgery.  I’ve had about nine operations in my life, all necessary, and with each, I’ve found it so much harder.

 

I’ve been having a rough couple of days, with pain that has been way beyond what I was told might occur. I suppose I shouldn’t expect otherwise, given how many core samples they took, but I didn’t think that every movement of my right arm would make me hurt. I have an amazing canvas of purple and black and the intial incision is still slowly bleeding.

 

I can deal with that, though. I’ve been wearing an icepack down my bra, disguised by boyfriend’s loose shirts, and I’ve told the boss at work that I really can’t drive big trucks at the moment, given that every time I lift my arm above seventy degrees I put strain on the cut bits.

 

I am lucky. I know this. But I do wonder if I might have developed cancer from this initial benign condition, if I hadn’t been concerned about the symptoms.

 

I had a mammogram. I was physically palpated by at least four people. Nothing registered. Yet there was a three centimetre (I think: I was going off the ultrasound screen picture, which I could make out, not anything the radiologist said) tumour inside my breast.

 

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I am still lucky

  1. Snowy says:

    That is good news. Onward and upward…

  2. Sunflower says:

    Very, very lucky. And thanks to God for that. I was thinking of you wondering…and hoping and praying it would be ok. When I stop breast feeding I should probably think seriously about a mammogram. I’m nor much on self exam and it sounds like those suckers are hard to find anyway. So many of my friends lately have been diagnosed with breast cancer…I’ve already lost one very, very special girlfriend from my life and I don’t want to lose anymore.
    xxx

  3. Suzy says:

    I’m so glad you had a relatively good diagnosis!

  4. quirkycharm says:

    Thanks, guys, that’s really sweet of you all.

Leave a Reply

