Comparisons are not always helpful

Via way of compromise, often diverging opinions can be brought together to find a mutually beneficial path.

 

Such are the thoughts that occur when the HTB are discussing honeymoon destinations and plans. a very wise friend of us both suggested writing down a top ten list of things we individually wanted from the honeymoon (and, yes, I am aware that it sounds silly to have a honeymoon thrird time around but I’ve never had one and I would love to do it).

 

So we  each made up our separate lists and our essential criteria and I am embarassed to admit that his were all incredibly loving and noble and mine were all crass and shallow.

 

I said I wanted a private pool or spa or to be on the beach: he said he wanted a lap pool at least ten metres long so he could do laps for exercise.

 

He wanted quality of experience: I wanted a room where the staff would just leave me alone.

 

He wanted serene surrounds: I wanted privacy so I could be naked all day.

 

He wanted a reasonable selection of different dining options; I wanted to eat out at roadside stalls.

 

He wanted proximity to other experiences and adventures: I wanted proximity to the air port.

 

And, most damming, he wanted a country that had equality of law for its citizens; I wanted a pool with a swim up bar.

 

Do you think we are doomed?

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

