Just busy

I find working a 40 hour  Monday to Friday week (well, actually more like fifty but I only get paid for forty) and then doing tours on the weekend utterly exhausting. There is very little time left in my life for anything apart from bits of family.

 

Things are going to change; I am negotiating new working areas and I do look forward to doing much less in about six weeks or so. But until then, I will continue working my backside off (sadly, not literally).

 

HTB would like me to work less but as he is currently working a thirteen day fortnight, he doesn’t have much high ground to stand on. I feel sorry for him and his work pressures: he feels sorry for me and mine!

 

We are struggling to find time to even organise our low key wedding and honeymoon and I can’t help wondering how the brides doing the full works cope with it all. It’s stressful enough just doing it with only us, our kids and registry office and travel agent involvement.

 

I want more free time to write and to garden and even to complete home improvement projects – like peel off the plastic on my French door panes that has been there for nearly two years!

 

It will come, I know, and in the meantime I count my blessings – a job in an uncertain economic climate, a family who loves me, a boyfriend that adores me and relatively good health. I am very lucky and any whingeing I do is totally cognisant of the fact that these are first world problems only.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just busy

  1. Snowy says:

    Looking good, Kitty. Happy for you.

  2. quirkycharm says:

    Thanks, Snowy. I hope your life is treating you well also. I really don’t have the time these days to keep up with blogs regularly but I still do check in with the group of us that orginally started out together.

    • Snowy says:

      Mrs Snowy and I are off to Canada in a couple of weeks for our elder son’s wedding, and then a three week coach trip from New York to L.A. So yes, life is treating us well.

      I haven’t been blogging much but do feel an obligation to stay in touch with the White Pages crew and others from Vox. I’ll get back to it after we return from our trip at the end of July.

      And yes, we should take the time to count our blessings which are many.

Leave a Reply

