I left my full time job on Friday

I won’t miss the ridiculous politics of it, the screaming and swearing of most of the people or the demented workload but I will miss the people.

 

Surprisingly enough, it appears that they will miss me too.  The mechanics out the back put on a barbecue for the afternoon, complete with drinks. The front office staff bought in cake for morning tea. I was given a lovely bouquet of flowers. There was a bottle of champagne, chocolates and a gift voucher for a massage.

 

I wasn’t expecting any of this. It’s probably my ‘incompetent incumbant’ rule kicking in again (never take a job where your predecessor is more able than you are: you will kick ass in comparison, with very little effort). But they are funny people and I really like people that can make me laugh.

 

I felt a bit guilty because they haven’t replaced me and we were struggling as it was  out front with three people. But they had over a month’s notice ( only two weeks required) and they hadn’t got onto it.

 

I was looking forward to doing very little for a while and then I got felled by a migraine that has pretty much lasted four days. It came on after we had lunch with my dad and stepmother and she told me that he has pain in his neck again/

 

I am sure the migraine was brought on by this – it makes me hurt to think that the cancer might be back (we don’t yet know this but I have a bad feeling). My dad was very subdued and I didn’t think he looked well at all.  Not fair because he suffered so much through the initial treatment and he was just starting to feel better.

 

I am glad I have more time available now – some of it will be spent with him.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

