More proof that I am a medical fuckup

God, it is so irritating to have my altruistic fantasies smashed into pieces. Tomorrow I was going into the city to donate blood and sign up for the bone marrow donor registry, amongst other things. But a little light googling today turned up the conditions that negate such an action.

 

Depressing to realise that out of only fifteen auto-immune diseases that bar a person from donating, I have FOUR of them. Iritis, Anklyosing Spondiltis, Reynaud’s Syndrome and Psoriasis.

I’ve often thought that if I was a dog, I would have been put down years ago. But to be honest, none of them significently impact too much on my life these days. I manage them well, which is to say that I ignore them until they make me whine excessively and then I half heartedly treat the itching spottiness or the numb/painful extremities or the eyeball of clouded red throb or the inability to sneeze without crying OR any combination of the afore-mentioned.

 

Once the itching subsides/the extremities turn a vague pink/the throb vanishes/I can view sex as pleasure, not pain, again, then I pretty much stop whatever medication I have been using for treatment. I can’t remember daily vitamins so anything that needs more action than that doesn’t get a look in, long term.

Management of chronic conditions through laziness is not an approach I would medically recommend so maybe the the Bone Marrow Registry has got it right. I can’t say that the laziness would also be passed on with my cell typography but there is no need to condemn anybody to having to manage a whole lot of DIFFERENT medical issues in place of the one that having the transplant is supposed to cure.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More proof that I am a medical fuckup

  1. Suzy says:

    I’m not allowed to donate blood either. Kind of makes me sad because I’d like to and I’m used to having blood pumped from me since I have to have blood work done every three months anyway!

  2. quirkycharm says:

    I started to reply here but it led onto a whole diatribe. Right now, yes you and I have the right attitude but it appears that the people who have the right requirements don’t think the same way.

Leave a Reply

