my legs hurt

Mondays I have blocked out for walking with my daughter. I’ve always loved really long walks and she seems up for it on her day off so we have decided to make it a ritual. I’ve had employers ask me to work fulltime over the next five weeks and although I could use the money, I’ve turned them down, saying that I had a standing committment.

I am trying to map out walks around the area, with the criteria being that they must be over 9kms long and must incorporate a great deal of natural bush.

Today we did a walk that involved 45 mins of downhill, 30 mins of flat and 90mins of uphill.Given that I live in a hills region, on the edge of a scarp, most walks anywhere are not flat but I try to minimise the incredibly steep uphill routes. I got it really wrong today and an awful lot of the walk was uphill, often at a fifty degree or more angle, over a rocky narrow path.

I was trying to reconnect us to the Bibblimun Track for the uphill section (the start of this trial/trail is in the little town I live in) but its been about fifteen years since I last walked it and in that time my damn Shire Council has apparently rerouted it, in order to deliver a more scenic start to the walk. Scenic it may be but I am sure that only the people just starting out on the 961 km trek would appreciate the extra hill climbing to take in the beautiful vistas.

I did around 5 kms uphill and I thought I was going to die and the beautiful views were not at all comforting.

(Yes, I am very unfit but I walk at an average pace of seven kms an hour and the distance isn’t a factor and the hills themselves are not problemmatic. I have AS and my lower ribcage is fused together and sometimes I literally can’t get enough breath to keep moving upwards because my lungs can’t expand any further.)

The whole walk took in a lot of absolutely wonderful scenery and, until the nasty unnecessary uphill sections, I loved it. But, oh, how my muscles hurt tonight!

Below is some of the gorgeous country we walked through:

 

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to my legs hurt

  1. Suzy says:

    I’m sure you did far better on the walk than I would’ve done. Not sure I could’ve done 9kms at all. And pretty pictures!!

    • quirkycharm says:

      It is lovely, like your Canada, but oh, I am so sore. I bought new shoes today and I will carry on, hoping it get easier. Maybe by the time I eventually get to Canada (2013/14) I will be fit enough to walk in the mountains!

Leave a Reply

