Nice night

Saturday we went to a bonfire party at Toodyay. A friend of Wayne’s, from SES, had invited us to her family’s farm, where every year her father burnt all the year’s collected woodfall in  one massive pile. They provided dinner, set up music and a dance floor, and provided much camping space for lots of people to sleep out over night.

 

We both had to work on the Sunday and I worked an early finishing shift on the Saturday so we could drive up after work. The drive is through very pretty countryside and we got there just before dark so we could set up our tent. 

 

I love a fire and it was so magical seeing the huge pile shooting up embers in to the night sky, like millions of random orange fireworks. They would float back down to earth and I tried to catch them in m glass of wine. The sizzle was really satisfying and I ended up with hot wine, although we also made mulled wine on a secondary fire, small enough to cook on androast marshmallows around (the big one was way too hot).

 

There was the odd alarming moment when I smelt burning hair, only to realise it was mine, from a drfting down ember! Luckily, Wayne beat it out before I got too singed. I didn’t realise that we were being covered in a fine layer of ash and I also didn’t realise that my face was getting burnt from the radiant heat.

Image

I monitored my wine consumption, as I had to drive today, but still didn’t much sleep. The night was lovely, the camping out under the clear, chill stars amazing but a full day of work today on three hours sleep was rather challenging.

 

My hair smells like campfire today, my face is hot and I am exhausted but it was worth it!

 

 

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nice night

  1. Suzy says:

    That sounds like so much fun!! I love smelling a campfire the next day in my clothes.

Leave a Reply

