Today normal service was resumed

I actually started back at work before today, though.

 

I had the operation on Wednesday.

Saturday I was cleared to do 4 hours driving but instead the office asked me to man the phones, which relieved me greatly, considering that  I wasn’t capable of going hours without painkillers. So instead, I took a huge quantity of phone calls whilst on narcotics and stuffed up our booking systems; all the while not caring terribly much. (I knew I should care but the drug side effects made it seem terribly unimportant – bet they don’t ask me again in the foreseeable future!)

 

Yesterday I did 4.5 hours driving and I was surprised at how exhausted I was at the end of the day. Also surprised at how ineffective basic over the counter meds were at relieving the breast pain.

 

My darling husband has been doing pretty much everything for me and I’ve appreciated it so much. Today I am trying to get back into a normal routine and, even though it isn’t a work day, I leapt out of bed to make him lunch and breakfast at the usual ungoldy hour.

 

Only to feel like a total idiot when he informed me that he had already done it and my pain/tired befuddled state had totally failed to register him getting out of bed and getting ready for work.

 

I don’t know whether it is the general anaesethetic or the operation itself that leaves me feeling like I’ve been run over by a bulldozer. I feel so exhausted and my breast is so sore.

 

They glued it up with superglue because I am allergic to all sorts of dressings and it is gross to look at and sort of oozy. I can’t bear any pressure on it all and I can’t bear to wear a bra so I am either wandering around topless or, if I have to wear something, a loose, light top in a natural fibre like fine cotton or silk. Because I am not at all the sort of woman who should go braless, I have taken to draping a fine silk shawl over my shoulders and pinning as a shrouding layer.

 

I suspect that this may be my new ‘normal’ for a long time.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

