Talking about twitter

Remember I sort of stuffed it up by unfortunate appearance of penis? Luckily, I have friends in low places and it was caught in time. Said low place friend put me onto this application called Hootsuite (owls!cute!) and it manages multiples accounts at a time. I only need two and I’ve been getting the hang of it.

It does, however, lead to a very unfortunate bipolar type display of my personality when I compare the two accounts together (the tweets are laid out side by side).

On one side is the upbeat, positive, milkmaid good company girl so obnoxiously cheerful about everything. And then there is, well, me.

Nowhere was this more apparent than yesterday. Yesterday was a VERY hard day. A fire started. Actually four fires started and we were right in the middle of them (proved to be sparks from a train). It meant rerouting and changing itinerary and lots of traffic and heat and just general awfulness and a very long day. The office were very supportive and extremely helpful but it was a very tiring day for me because of the extra energy involved.

Digressing a little, I don’t know if I have ever explained exactly what I think being a tour guide is like but for me it is like being on stage. I play a role but I also do improv so I have to memorise and react and adapt. And I have to do this all day as well as be a social facilitator. I don’t get a break because I am always with my passengers or doing something for the functioning of the tour.  I often don’t get time to eat lunch. Heck, I often don’t get time to pee (or I get too busy and forget). And did I mention that I also drive a bus while I am doing this? I am not complaining because I do love my job but I find it very demanding and I do work very hard at it and I am very tired at the end of the day. When you add in extra demands, like the odd bushfire, my brain feels overloaded and I feel exhausted. A ten and a half hour improv play is a long one!

So, yes, I was tired. And I was taking pictures and tweeting about passengers on the official work account and sometimes the unofficial private one as well, which as far as I know isn’t really seen by anybody but which is a great venting place.

And today I look back and I read and it goes something like this:

Milkmaid me: Oops, smoke, better change the afternoon venues!

Real Me: Motherfucking fire, somebody grab the marshmallows!

MM:  See this picture, happy passengers still enjoying their wine, distracted from giant smoke flume

RM: I hope that bastard gets bitten by a snake

 

There are others but it struck me, seeing them side by side, that they could almost have been written by two separate people. I like it that I can channel my professionalism this way AND vent at the time.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

