The beginning of the end

My dad had another operation today. One of his kidneys appears to be shrivelled up and biopsies didn’t shed any light on what was causing it so they planned to go in and remove it laparoscopically (sp?). A simple day operation through two tiny slits.

The surgeon tried to, found a problem and had to call in a second surgeon.  It endedup being a six hour operation. There was a large mass there, with some of it extending up and wrapping around the main vein to his heart.

 

Nobody has said the word ‘tumour’ or ‘malignant’ yet  but we all know that  that is the case. It wasn’t there four months ago when he had all body scans and he has been incredibly fatigued lately and losing weight. Given the speed at which it has grown, i think we will be measuring his future in terms of months.

 I theoretically knew that my parents are going to die before me but I had never given it much thought as to how.

 

He’s still in intensive care and my stepmama is a mess. I’ve told my family and now we are waiting to hear more in the next few days.

 

I have a job interview tomorrow morning, for a position I was very excited about. I spent a lot of time today preparing and practicing. I can’t remember anything now and it just doesn’t seem to matter a damn.

 

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The beginning of the end

  1. Brad (Griff) says:

    Aaah … fuck … :”(

Leave a Reply

