Admiring the view? Enjoying the breeze?

Turns out not so much.

My dad has taken ill again, after the euhoria of the first few days home. I am hoping it is just the reaction of being at home, away from the constant hospital care, and settling into the reality of a finite future.

But Ihaven’t even seen him yet! I have had a low grade cold for weeks now and can’t shake it. It is not enough to make me truly sick, just miserable, but my stepmama doesn’t want me to visit and I agree. I feel so sad. All I’ve done is talk to him, in tiny phone bursts, and it isn’t enough.

I am scared that they will put him back into hospital, he will deteriorate further and I just won’t get the chance to experience any of the good time I was looking forward to. Yeah, I know, all about me. But about him, too. I know he would want to spend that time with me if he was well enough to spare enough energy to want anything. Which he isn’t, so he doesn’t. It is miserable for him.

Speaking of misery, how come we are allowed to put animals ‘out of their misery’ and it is called humane, yet if you do the same thing to people it is called murder or manslaughter? Everybody grows up with a story of their pets going to live on a farm when they got old; my parents didn’t quite tell me that but I did have the misguided belief that all of them died naturally. There was one, a pet lamb, who was sent to a sheep station to ‘live out its days’ once it grew too much for the household but apart from that, no farm.

My dad may or may not die naturally. It might be a side effect from the medications for pain, it might be his stressed organs giving out, it might be the cancer invading somewhere it shouldn’t be, catastrophically. No matter which way, none of those deaths are what I would choose for him.

I would choose to send him to live happily on a farm somewhere, rocking on a porch at sunset, admiring the view, feeling the breeze.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Voyage Around My Father. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Admiring the view? Enjoying the breeze?

  1. Suzy says:

    You know, I’ve asked the same kind of question about helping loved ones to die when they’re in pain. I’ve often wonder why it’s not “playing God” to help them stay alive, but it is “playing God” to help them die comfortably, you know?
    Anyway, I hope you’re able to spend some time with him soon.

    • quirkycharm says:

      There is a certain awareness of the options and possible ways that the future might unfold but these things are not up to me. I don’t know how I would react in the same situation; whether I would think my life worth hanging onto, no matter what (my now opinion as a person in good health) or would want to call it quits without degrading further. The actual situation changes the theoretical position, I am finding.

Leave a Reply

