The letter I wrote that got the parking permit

Can’t even remember if I wrote the back story to this one – basically, I have to park outside, it costs a lot of money, they wouldn’t give us a permit in spite of special circumstances, much pleading etc. My father tried, my brother tried. Today I wrote this email and this got sent to the Lord mayor’s office and I now have special permission for a special permit for six months.
 
Dear xxxx,
 
I was hoping you could pass on this email to the relevant person and sooner rather than later.
 
I have a problem, about which I have been in touch directly with the Parking Department, via phone, and I wanted to put it into writing and pass it through the appropriate channels.
 
I need to get hold of a residential parking permit from the City of Perth, in the vicinity of West Perth.
 
My father is dying of cancer. He lives in a top floor apartment, with his wife, in the Outram Hotel, on Outram Street in West Perth. They own one car between them and have one parking space in the basement of the hotel below.
 
I live in Kalamunda and drive regularly to sleep over for a couple of nights a week and spend the day there so my stepmother can sleep and  I can take over the nursing care. Parking is incredibly expensive in West Perth – around ten dollars for three hours and there is the matter of having to move my car every three hours. We have applied for a residential parking permit but been turned down on the grounds my father already has a parking spot. This is only something that is wanted for a short period of time, on compassionate grounds.
 
My father is very ill. This is not a long term disability thing. He is dying. He needs caring for and currently I, along with his live-in wife, am one of the two people who do it.
 
I earn not very much money at all and the petrol cost alone is hard for me. Because I have to drive home from work at the end of the day first (and I don’t finish until six thirty pm), and then must collect prepared food and clean laundry, a bus is not a viable option. The physical tasks, plus the associated emotions; the minutiae of helping a so much loved father in his final journey are hard enough; this additional burden of the parking struggle is almost defeating me.
 
I know bureaucracy is not designed to operate for the needs of the individual – by its very nature it cannot – but surely there is room for exceptions here and there?
 
Yours sincerely,
 
etc
About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The letter I wrote that got the parking permit

Leave a Reply

