Something that amuses me greatly, in a morbid sort of way

Last time my father was in the hospital, they gave him a walking frame to use to get around. I had hired a wheelchair for two weeks, which he never ended up using at all but we did hope that the walking frame might do it as he could just about hobble a few paces, with the aid of its support.

So I asked my brother to get him one and to make sure it was the right type I took a picture of the hospital one on my ipad. Problem is, I am extremely un-tech savvy and figured I would down load the pictures onto my home computer and then email from there, which I had done before. Except my home laptop runs Windows 8 and I am extremely unfamiliar with it, it being a new computer. It was a huge struggle to get the picture onto the laptop and then email it off* but with the assistance of lovely husband, it eventually happened. It wasn’t a very good picture and it showed the walking frame, with wheels, next to a dingy hospital sink, in a depressing hospital room, in a gloomy setting, but it was sufficient for the required purpose.

However, somewhere along the line in getting it transferred across we inadvertently set it as my background wallpaper and we can’t work out how to remove it. So every time I turn on my computer I am greeted with this picture in excruciating detail: grey industrial walking frame, chipped steel, rusty wheels, under sink pipes, peeling paint. There’s a slightly open bathroom door and I’m fairly certain that if you concentrate hard enough you can make out Dad’s roommate, peeing in there, through the tiny crack in the door. I didn’t deliberately choose to include him; I just didn’t realize he was in there until afterwards.

This, my friends, is my computer wallpaper. A lovely reminder of a simply amazing time in my life that I obviously want to remember!

 

*He ended up buying a frame rather than renting one. We have decided that we will regard it as a family heirloom and pass it down through generations of decrepitude, engraving one old crock after another’s name on it.

The same applies to the sheepskin bedsore booties I bought for dad today. I will embroider his name upon them. What?

They were expensive! This stuff is all really expensive. This whole decline/end of life business is extremely expensive. I estimate I have spent about $ 700 in out of pocket expenses over the last four weeks; all of it on products designed to make my father more comfortable. There is a great little shop called MediHire, where you can hire some stuff (wheelchairs/frames etc.) or buy products. I have been in there so much that I am on a first name basis with the guy that runs it. His name is Peter. Hi, Peter! 

 

 

 

 

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

