Update

Definitely in less pain. The hydromorph is working. More nauseated. I thought they weren’t giving him enough anti-emetics but apparently they run it through the pump. So maybe another symptom? Brain scan today (Monday).

I went to see him yesterday after work. I parked the bus at my brother’s place and borrowed their car as I knew if I had to drive back after work I would be too exhausted (and not safe) to come at all.

 

I found him very distressed, looking up at me and saying, “I’m in extremis”. Turned out he was in a bout of acute nausea. I helped as best I could, with bowls and towels and cold flannels on the back of the neck and after some time managed to get him to have a few sips of custard for his dinner and some milk.

Eventually, I settled him down with his nighttime routine, involving teeth brushing and face washing and cream smearing and mouth hydrating and re-arranging of bedside tables of things in reach and a thousand other little tasks and eventually left about an hour and a half. Tonight he didn’t cry when I left. In fact, he wasn’t really emotional at all.

It was curious and my brother had remarked on it from his visits earlier on in the day. From wanting to be with us all the time, holding our hands, crying when I, or his wife left, he has become detached. I don’t want to label it, knowing full well that I am not a professional, but maybe, just maybe, he is starting the process of withdrawal.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

