Back from my walk

I have blisters (20kg of pack is heavy and gives pressure weight to the feet, in spite of excellent boots).

I have bruises. Lots of sharp things out in the woods.

I have cuts and scratches. Sharp branches and rubbed knuckles and probably ticks as well (I haven’t looked too closely).

I have aching knees, due to all the up-and-down-edness of the terrain. My middle-aged, arthritic right knee particularly wants it to be know that it did NOT appreciate being forced through 70 plus kms of hills.

I got lost. A lot. Maps and vague wiggly lines don’t translate well when the trail markers have been burnt off in bushfires or when the trailwalker is engrossed in grief and doesn’t pay attention. I ended up backtracking a lot, up more damn hills that I shouldn’t have walked down in the first place; that usually added at least another hour onto my day.

 

I smell bad. Correction: I did. I am now showered and in fresh clothes, after six stinking days of wet-wipe washes and two sets of clothes: walking ones and night time ones. By journey’s end it was hard to pick the difference.

I was so hungry. Six hours of walking a day does that and I ran out of food this morning.

I was so cold. The temperature was really chilly every night (think 2 degrees celcius) and this morning it went below freezing – I know because there was a film of ice on my water bottle. I slept in opensided wooden shelters, with every item of clothing I could find, in a sleeping bag rated zero, and I still shivered my way through the nights.

 

Was it worth it? Yes.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back from my walk

  1. Suzy says:

    I’m glad you made it back safely and I’m especially glad that you think it was worth it and hopefully got what you needed out of it.

Leave a Reply

