I’ve just got back from a solo three day hike

The husband is away at (yet another) minesite, helping service big bits of machinery. I dislike his going away on the grounds that if I wanted to be with somebody who had a fly in/fly out job (FIFO as we call them here) then I would have damn well married one with the salary to match, not a person who gets exploited by their company. But at least he has a job and he does like going away and so I have decided to try and use the time he goes away as opportunities for personal growth, rather than resentment.

Thus, the hiking. I was doing another section of the Bibbulumun Track and this one covered about 36 km over three days and two overnights, solo. It rained, a lot. My knees hurt today, a lot. Still, not everybody can say that they climbed two mountains (such as we have in WA; they call them mountains and you better believe I’m claiming them as such) before 9 a.m. as I did this morning. I even have a selfie of me, red faced and sweaty to prove it.

I think I enjoyed it. I loved the seclusion and the solitude. I certainly enjoyed stopping doing it.

I will definitely do it again.

 

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve just got back from a solo three day hike

  1. Aussie Emjay says:

    This sounds wonderful.

  2. quirkycharm says:

    It really was. Sort of, at the time (well, the bits that weren’t exhausting), and definitely upon reflection!

Leave a Reply

