First week of an Auslan Course my daughter and I are taking together

We are doing it for a number of reasons:

She works in a pharmacy and thinks it might be useful there

I might use it for work

It gives us the opportunity to spend time together

We have a dedicated ‘study buddy’ in each other

No learning is ever wasted.

Today was our first two hour session and it was so interesting but also so much fun. You aren’t allowed to talk in class: not at all. The instructor is deaf (I think); anyway, she didn’t talk at all. Today we learnt the alphabet  and how to ask a few simple questions and we spent a lot of time playing word games with other class members.

The whole emphasis is on fun learning and the two hours flew by in a flash. Claire and I have decided we will have a thrice weekly study date, where we don’t talk at all but communicate only in sign language and we will go out to different venues each time. The signing itself is easier than the reading of somebody else’s signing, or so I find it, but presumably it will come easier with practice. I have read elsewhere that the most successful second language (and Auslan is one) are those where there is total immersion in the new subject. I am already looking forward to week 2!

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

