Winter time in the Southern Hemisphere

It feels cold. Technically, it isn’t actually that cold: it is very rare that the temperature dips down to freezing but it has been around 1 or degrees Celcius in the early mornings recently. I feel those early morning chills because I ride my bike to work (it takes around 50 minutes) and I can’t feel my fingers after ten minutes. Canada was much colder (- 35 when we got there) but it didn’t give me the arthritis aches and I think of it as being a dryer sort of cold.

My husband has asked me not to ride to work on particularly stormy days (those with a severe weather alert) and I’m obliging but other days, rain or shine, I pedal off. It is not enjoyable; not in the least but I am hoping that as it gets warmer and the daylight lengthens (I hate riding in the dark) it might become something I like again.

We had the Solistice on Saturday so days are lengthening. I only knew because we had a party that night and one of our guests had the exact moment marked on his phone alarm. I asked if we should sacrifice someone but the suggestion was turned down.

Today is beautiful and I’ve been out for a walk/run. I am TRYING to work up to running 5kms but Lord, there’s another form of exercise I hate. I really enjoyed the crisp air, the blue skies and seeing all the bush so green. It was just the actual running bit I didn’t like.

I didn’t make any specific new year resolutions (I seldom do) but I did make a conscious decision to try and lead a more active lifestyle, both brain and body wise. That means things like riding to work, walking or running on other days and doing as much hiking as I can. I am liking the hiking. In fact, so much so that I just bought my own set of walking poles and a self-inflating sleeping mat. I plan another  overnight walk down the Bibbulumun Track soon and I am getting fed up with borrowing my brother’s stuff.

On the active brain front, the Auslan course is challenging but enjoyable. We have our last class this Saturday and I will miss it. I am woefully bad but the teacher never makes me feel that way. I’d quite like to continue on but it has to be part time as an evening course and they offer it on the days I work so it is a bit problematic. I find that I don’t remember verbs  as well as nouns but for some reason I can really remember the signs for food! Well, maybe that isn’t so surprising.

Speaking of food, I made an amazing Angel Food Cake for our party and gave it the melted crayon effect with the frosting. I was really happy with how it turned out.

 

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter time in the Southern Hemisphere

  1. Suzy says:

    That cake looks so cool!!

Leave a Reply

