Day 2 (part 2) – Roadside sleep stop to Karijini National Park 612 kms

We drove into Newman (mining town that is based around iron ore) and topped up our fuel tanks before heading off into the National Park. It was such a pretty drive as the hills started to appear and I had my head practically hanging out of the window, craning for the view I love so much.

pilbara hills

Our plans were pretty flexible so when we arrived at the entrance stop, we initially paid for just two nights, with an option to extend. The camping area has a resident volunteer host, who takes your money and allocates the camp site area. Each area is about thirty square metres and you are in sight, although not generally earshot (unless they are loud!) of your neighbours. Basically, you get a flat plot of hard red earth, bordered by low posts, and you can put in  tent or a caravan or whatever. There are separate sights for generator camping and some sites have small trees around them (very useful for shade) and there is low scrub all the way through.

The sites are set out in loops, with a one way traffic system and there are a couple of gas barbecues and long drop toilets scattered here and there. No fires are permitted. There is one fresh water tank about ten kms away where you can top up your water supplies but it needs to be treated. Basically, you are paying $10 per person per night and you need to be pretty self contained.

We set up our tent, using a hammer to bang the pegs into the hard earth. Then we poured ourselves a beer, sat back and relaxed. My policy on camping is that it should always include beer!

Doesn’t he look relaxed, bless him?

IMG_0454

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

