I’ve been sick for the past week

Actually, longer than that but I’ve been struggling through; only taking one day off work and forcing myself to keep up with regular life. This included social engagements; looking after my sicker mother; entertaining a lot of people, a few times, for my briefly-back-from-Canada daughter (she’s off again tomorrow); and keeping up a running training schedule for the CT5K thing I have happening so that I can run a race soon.

Last Sunday I even went out running with a temperature of 40.4. Then sometime this week it became apparent I really wasn’t doing too well and I missed my Dad’s posthumous graduation ceremony, where the Chancellor awarded him his Phd in a private ceremony, because my fever was way too high for me to drive. I’d been pretty much living on aspirin all week and I have a personal philosophy that I might as well go to work if I feel crappy, as long as I don’t endanger lives. Before anybody jumps on me for this, I will add that I never take anything stronger than aspirin, I will never do it if I feel I might have lapses of concentration, I am hard to replace, I don’t get paid if I don’t work and I don’t actually notice any of the germ ridden passengers on my vehicles restricting themselves from passing around their lurgies. I can understand if people get upset about me working when I am sick: support a tourism industry that can afford sick days, then, so I can stay home. Otherwise, shut up.

I have a raging upper respiratory tract infection and tonight I started antibiotics, which I have fought off doing for over two weeks, on the grounds that there is way too much overuse. The husband is away and I just feel weak and pathetic and like everybody is out to get me. I really need people to be nice to me right now because feeling so terrible makes me totally unable to consider anybody else’s point of view but my own and there is every possibility in the world that the next few days will see me unemployed/divorced/disowned/murdered or possibly all of the above.

Obviously, we are ALL hoping that good health kicks in again soon. I have just done too much, too sick for too long.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

