Somewhat annoying

Tourism employs as a casual. This means that you only get paid for the days you work. When considering to quit my job I took into account that we were coming up to the busy season and, after five years, felt I owed them enough loyalty to give as much notice as possible.

When I had previously expressed reservations over working Christmas (given that I’ve worked 5 festive seasons already, longer than anybody else in the company and my husband HAS to take leave over that time) and was told that other people had already booked leave but I should try to give them as much notice as possible and they would see what they could do; well, I took that on board. We are always busy around Christmas.

That was the straw that broke the camel’s back. I was not going to do another fucking Christmas, dealing with entitled drunks on festive jaunts. I’ve done way more than my fair share. If my time in the trenches and my tourism qualifications (which net me sweet FA in terms of more money than Joe Blow off the street), don’t give me any extra advantages, then why should I bother? To be told that I had to do not only my regular shifts but more because other people were holidaying was enough to tip the balance.

Legally, I was only required to give one day’s notice. Morally, I felt I should give more. If we are already short staffed then it would take a while to get somebody in so I would give a few months so they could train somebody up. So I gave in my notice last Friday, making it clear that I wouldn’t leave them in the lurch.

I swear that if this was an office job, they would have had my cardboard carton packed and on the pavement by close of business that day. So much for me doing the right thing. I was unsure if I was even working this week; I did work today. Apparently I am being replaced tomorrow and the next day and immediately onwards.

So much for doing the right thing.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

