I’m gonna be driving with the big boys

Upgrading my driving licence to drive bigger vehicles. There was a job advertised recently for Tour Guides/Drivers and they asked for the drivers to have a class of licence one above what I do have. I drive MR and they need HR, which does double axle vehicles.

I applied for the Tour Leader role but I thought that it might give me an edge up if I was versatile and make me stand out if I said that I was in the process of upgrading my licence to that higher level. I was right. They were very interested and having said that I was already doing it, I now have had to go ahead and put my money where my mouth is, so to speak.

Lessons for the higher grade cost $150 per hour, which is one reason I haven’t done it so far, but when I got my MR licence, I actually did a one day course where I drove a truck all day and then sat my licence test in the afternoon. It was a good way to do it because I got very comfortable with the vehicle and I sat the test in the same truck I’d been driving around in all day.

So I decided to decide to do the same thing with the higher grade of licence. The total day cost works out the same as six hours of lessons, which is about the bare minimum I would need anyway for continuity and then I would need to rent a vehicle to do the test anyway. Expensive, I know, but it will be tax deductible and hopefully make me more employable.

Maybe this job won’t be the one but another job might be and although it sound scary moving up to driving bigger vehicles I thought that about ANY buses before I drove them, too. The biggest buses I have driven have been 37 seaters and for this current job they would be 44 seaters, which isn’t a huge difference. In any case, I would be doing both roles, separately. It would be an extended touring job, which I would like to try doing again.

We shall see.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

