About health and exercise

I don’t do New Year’s resolutions. I make vague sort of generalisations that I don’t tell anybody about and then I don’t feel bad if I don’t carry them through. Well, I feel bad but not shamed publicly!

This year’s vague generalisation was to move more. I wanted to be more active and I wanted to incorporate exercise into my life in a way that was sustainable long term. So there was Project electric bicycle and using that to replace a lot of car trips. I’ve done that and I continue to do that.

I also wanted to continue my hiking along the Bibbulumun Track. I’ve loved the time I spend out there so this has never been an effort for me – the effort has been to carve out the time.

I’ve always secretly wanted to run in a race and this year I signed up for the Colour Run at the beginning of November. To that end, I’ve started a running program and I’ve been religious about sticking to it, when I could. I got sick, I developed tendonitis and I had to take to slow here and there but I kept at it.

I don’t much like running but I used to run every day about 13 years ago and I was the thinnest I’ve ever been in my life. It wasn’t sustainable, however; the only reason I was that thin (and that thin was between a size 8 – 10) was because I stopped eating as well. Not the best way to do it.

I’ve never particularly cared about my weight and I certainly don’t care about other people’s reactions to it so this year of moving more hasn’t been about diet. But it seemed a shame not to eat as well as possible so I could fuel my body to run efficiently and so I changed our whole diet around and put the husband on the same program. (He doesn’t run and he doesn’t exercise as much as I do but I do have him regularly going to the gym.)

I haven’t bothered to weigh myself but I think I’ve dropped at least a dress size or two, judging by how my clothes are falling off a bit. He has definitely lost weight but he doesn’t really like our very vegetarian/low carb diet very much; credit to him that he continues it. We have a cheat night once a week and I honestly think long term that this is sustainable.

I find the food preparation a huge bore, I must say. Constant chopping of things. Also, eating fresh is very, very expensive.

I am curious to know what I am capable of, exercise and eating wise. I don’t think I will ever get as thin as the two photos below, which I’ve included just for kicks, but I am 48 years old and life is good.

Scan0005 Scan0006

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

