Digression Part 3

I was meant to do the Color Run today with my daughter. I had trained over three months to run 5kms, a huge effort considering how much I dislike running and how I had to overcome tendonitis, general illness and other things thrown into the mix. But I did it, only to be struck down by this ulcer the week before.

I offered to give my ticket to somebody else so my daughter could run with a friend but she decided she would like to do it with me regardless and we set our minds to getting out wheelchair, which we did.

Today we rocked up at Langley Park, along the Perth foreshore, her pushing me along the grass, a very tough feat. With the Color Run, you can either walk or run and they blast you with cornstarch coloured powder at various intervals along the way. It isn’t a real race as such but it is tremendous fun and you see all sorts of ages participating – we saw a newborn and some grandparents on mobility scooters!

Claire found the pushing on the grass very hard but she refused to stop or take a break and was adamant in rejecting the offers of others to push. The road sections were much easier and she was running along those. I felt very guilt just sitting there but the whole thing, with its carnival atmosphere of bright colours, loud music and festive atmosphere, was just what I needed to cheer me up.

Some photos:

Before we started. All nice and clean and crutching my way around.

Claire n me colour run5

I’d been sprayed with yellow and green and blue and was coming up to orange. Claire said I should make this one my facebook profile pic so I have!

Claire n me colour run4

Finished the five K but before we got caught up in the madness of people throwing packets of coloured dust everywhere. Those are soap bubbles in my hair, not large dandruff!

Claire n me colour run3

So purple!

Claire n me colour run

We obviously had a great time.

Claire n me colour run2

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

