Interview tomorrow

I have no expectations that I will get this position. Or that, even if it was offered to me, I would want to accept it. But I still have to proffer out my suitability for the role and the company has to tentatively try and bring me in to see if I might fit in their organisation.

Tour Leader? I can do that, with my hands tied behind my back. Driver? Um.

Yes, I do now hold a current bit of paper saying that I can drive the big buses but I don’t have any experience on them. I passed my licence upgrade by paying a great deal of money for a one day course whereby I drove a huge truck around for seven hours and then sat my driving test.

It was very, very hard. Those class of vehicle have what they call a synchromesh gear box , which means as well as having the standard five gears there are another four higher ones; you have to press a lever on the gearstick to move up to the higher gear.

In order to pass the test I had to change up gears at 1700rpm and change down at 1000rpm, every time. I had to be constantly checking my mirrors (it was a very long truck). I had to be able to reverse around a blind corner, from both a right and left hand perspective. I had to keep up (and down) to the speed limit. I had utilise a push-pull system with the steering wheel. I had to make sure the truck’s rear end did not cross over any white lines, no matter that it took up its entire road length. Oh, and I had to know what colour the car was behind me if the examiner asked.

I don’t do well in test situations. I started to shake as soon as the examiner got into the cab with me and I shook the whole way through. I knew I wasn’t good enough to sit the test but the exam was included in the cost of the course so I decided to do it anyway, for practice.

There were so many things to remember, the most important being the gears. I kept forgetting which one I was in and the more I forgot, the more flustered I became. I made a total balls up of it all. Amazingly, I did pass. That’s actually how I passed my initial driver’s licence as well. A shaking bag of nerves, stuffing it up but just under the legal allowed problems.

Which is to say, I have that HR licence but I don’t think I can drive a huge bus that confidently yet. I don’t know whether to talk myself into it or talk myself out of it.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

