It has been a bad few days

I am not on tour. I don’t know when I will be on tour. I was all ready to go and then, four hours before I did my first bit of official work, I managed to snap the tendon of my left hand ring finger.

It was a rather gruesome (and incredibly embarrassing) little tale. I was simply tucking the couch cover back into the gap between the seat bit and the back bit. I didn’t hit or jar my hand and there was plenty of room but suddenly I heard a very loud “POP!” and it felt like an electric current was running down my hand. I thought that I’d been bitten by a spider or some other deadly creepy crawlie but when I pulled my hand back out, the top joint of my finger was floppily drooping at an angle it shouldn’t have been.

I thought I’d dislocated it so it was off to the hospital. X-rays showed no fracture or dislocation but the doctor who told me this said it would have been better if I’d done either of those things; apparently, they heal fast and strong. A ruptured tendon, on the other hand….

Splint for 6 – 8 weeks and maybe surgery to re-attach it.  I swear it took all of my self-control not to burst into tears right then. Instead I got to take my very sore finger home and phone up my boss and say that I couldn’t do the next two tours.

They were very good about it but I have to get clearance medically before I come back. Whilst they made the right noises about waiting for me (and this is the second incident of ill- putting off a start date; last one was the Blister with Delusions of Grandeur in October), this is a casual industry and they don’t really know my capabilities so if anybody halfway competent comes along between now and healed finger time, my job is toast. I wouldn’t even blame them.

To add to a miserable day, my father-in-law died yesterday as well. Expected but still sad. And my mum just had a car crash.

I do feel like there is a little grey Eeyore cloud currently perched above this corner of my life.

 

EDITED TO ADD:

Our toilet just broke. Not literally broke – the cistern and bowl and seat are all intact – but some little biddy plastic thing must have detached itself in the last flush and carried onto the sewers. Because without that little plastic thingie (and we are surmising here because it just seems like there should be one there), the buttons don’t press down to release the water valve.

It is 10pm. Hardware stores are shut. This is maximum inconvenience. I am all about abluting in the great wide outdoors but I don’t even really have a garden here! The manual method it is: fill up buckets of water and pour them into the bowl to flush it through. This goes wonderfully with my finger that isn’t supposed to move for eight weeks.

Hating life right now.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in health, Marriage/Relationships, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

