Interlude

I am writing about the first tour but right now I want to indulge myself in more of a personal way.

I miss my family. I miss them a lot. And, at the same time, I am aware that they probably miss me more: the ones stuck at home aren’t experiencing the excitement of a new environment and its challenges and achievements.

I think about those people at home and I worry about whether they are looking after themselves, both physically and mentally. I am egotistical enough to suspect that, without my input, things might slide a little. I worry about cleanliness and food. I am not there to cook dinner any more and I am not entirely convinced that my husband will.

When I first met him, he was working long hours and just sort of let things lapse a lot. He didn’t cook at all and his meals consisted of greasy shit eaten out or sandwiches eaten at home. Yep; after a 12 hour day, a sandwich was dinner. I don’t want him to go back to that and I’ve suggested that he utilise one of those meal delivery services: it would save on grocery shopping time as well as keeping him healthy.

I was talking to him the other night about our respective life paths right now and I mentioned that I didn’t have time to eat on tour, even when cooking. I also added that there was some leftover food from the tour, which I gratefully took home, being broke right now. Practical me made sandwiches from all the bread and cold cuts and I individually wrapped each and froze them. Now I have a supply that I can grab when I come in late and don’t want to shop or cook. I don’t have the creativity to think of meals after using my brain constantly on tour.

So I told my husband this, feeling quite smug about this useful approach to nutrition. There was a pause. We recognised it instantly. There’s been a 180 flip in our food philosophy. I am now Sandwich Lady and he is now Balanced Nutrition Guy. I regrouped and told him that the circumstances were totally different and not comparable in any way.

I guess I am also Hypocrite Woman.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

