Things I am learning in Central Australia: weather facts

  • Desert doesn’t mean hot. It gets down to minus five, minus ten at night.
  • You can get dehydrated even in winter. The air is so dry that moisture is sucked out of you without any sign of sweating.
  • Desert winter climate does not have rain included as a standard. Or even an occasional. It might rain randomly here and there but you can’t forecast it and it might not rain at all for years. Plants need watering year round and they display all the signs of heat stricken  summer in winter, if that water isn’t forthcoming.
  • Those indigenous plants are incredibly well adjusted to surviving on minimal moisture. Example: we now have to carry all out waste water back out of the parks because the plants were dying when visitors misguidedly discarded clean  waste water onto them.
  • Every household has intensive moisturizing cream (in the bulk tubs) dotted around the house. I counted five in my household this morning.
  • You need to use that cream. You need to use moisturizing products on your hair, as well. Otherwise your body looks reptilian, crusting and flaking off all over the place, and your hair could double as packing straw.
  • I find it ironic that I, the laziest female around when it comes to personal grooming and glamourizing, will now spend more time caring for my shell than I’ve ever done  in my life, whilst living a filthy outback life.
  • Yes, it’s filthy. Did I mention there is wind here? Yes,  a lot of wind. I love having 300 million year old particles around me at all times, getting into and onto all places. Hey, I’m eating history here, folks!
  • I do not know the weather forecast for the next day. If I am asked (and I am always asked), I will make it up.

So, to sum up weather forecast for the Northern Territory: currently cold, dry and dusty in winter. Summer: hot, dry and dusty. Chances of rain: mostly minus percentages.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

