Northern Territory Celebration Day and I am tired

Tired sounds about right for me, too, given the pace of my working life; the regular 18 hour days of the basic tours exhaust  me and I am grateful for the more relaxed days when I get to not work so hard. I’ve said this before, and will no doubt say it again, but this is the hardest touring job that I have ever done.

Yesterday was Territory Day, where the denizens of this state get to celebrate their sheer bloody mindedness by blowing things up/setting things on fire/maiming themselves, and I got back off tour exhausted but determined to buy the odd firework and (safely) blow things up. I had sort of arranged for somebody to pick me up some fireworks but it became apparent that work had overtaken other things and I really could understand that level of commitment so I was fine with the fact that fireworks wouldn’t personally happen for me but I knew I could enjoy the entire town’s worth of mayhem, regardless.

Alas, when I was driving home I saw a “FIREWORKS HERE!” banner and I walked into a late opening store and, unfortunately,  but reflexively said “I’ll have the other one”, when the girl in front of me asked if a specific pack was still available and was told that there were only two left; I then found myself the proud possessor of $100 worth of assorted bangs and flashes.

Got home and my roomies were away and I was too timid to set any fireworks off myself and instead watched/heard drunken revelling/saw panicked dogs/loud bangs and bright flashes for about 15 minutes before I fell asleep, amid the sounds and lights of what approximated a WW3 apocalypse.

They are still going today.

I am left with a bit of regret for not setting any fireworks off and a tiny bit of sadness for not having people I love around to share it with but, on the whole, I really enjoyed the entire concept.

There was a lot of deafening sound action and a lot of blinding eye action and the hope that others might appreciate my surplus: luckily, I think I have friends who might be ok with this, given my pathetic amount of explosive action at the time and my obvious (in hindsight) accumulation.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

